UCSF Radiology Faculty and Staff Recognized at the Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators 2019 New Member Celebration

On September 25, 2019, the UCSF Center for Faculty Educators hosted their 19th Annual Celebration of New Members for the Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators. Established in 2000, the Academy is dedicated to creating an environment that enhances the status of teachers at UCSF, promotes and rewards teaching excellence, fosters curricular innovation and encourages scholarship in medical education. The UC San Francisco Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging is pleased to announce that several department faculty and staff members received well-deserved recognition.

Join the department in congratulating the following three faculty members who received Excellence in Teaching Awards:

  • Kimberly Kallianos, MD, assistant professor of Clinical Radiology in the Cardiac and Pulmonary Imaging section
  • Ryan Kohlbrenner, MD, assistant professor in the Interventional Radiology section
  • Leo Sugrue, MD, PhD, assistant professor in residence and attending neuroradiologist in the Neuroradiology section

Overall, these awards are peer-nominated and recognize the many "front-line" faculty members who are involved in teaching medical students and residents on a daily basis and who help to make UCSF such an outstanding educational institution.

Also, join us in congratulating Cindy Flores Gaytan, residency education coordinator, on being named one of two recipients of the Jaclyne Witte Boyden Award. Flores Gaytan was a recipient in the category "Five and Fewer Years of Service". The award, named for former Vice Dean Jackie Boyden, honors and recognizes exemplary service by School of Medicine staff in support of medical education. Flores Gaytan supports the vice chair of education and the diagnostic residency program director, the integrated interventional radiology residency program director and 55 trainees. Letters of nomination for Flores Gaytan included tributes from faculty members who praised her commitment to the department's educational programs, her strong critical thinking and excellent organizational skills. One nominator wrote, "Cindy executes her responsibilities with great attention to detail and has a deep passion, dedication and special skills for promoting and enhancing the educational agenda of our department."

Congratulations to all 2019 New Members and award winners. 


Related People