Celebrating our Faculty and Alumni

Recognitions & Celebrations

Outstanding Alumnus Award

Presented to a graduate of the radiology residency program who has achieved a high level of professional accomplishment, who has provided outstanding service to the field of radiology through their leadership, and who has promoted the culture of the UCSF Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging through collaboration, professionalism and excellence.

2021 Jessica Leung, MD

2021 Outstanding Alumnus Award, Jessica Leung, MDDr. Leung completed her residency and fellowship at UCSF and is a faculty member at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. Dr. Leung has a long record of national servie with the American College of Radiology (ACRA) and BI-RADS as well as on the ACR Committee on Government Relations and Stereotactic Biopsy. Dr. Leung has published widely on breast imaging, and is a frequent lecturer to national and international audiences. Among her many awareds are the American Roentgen Ray Scholar and UCSF Outstanding Teacher Award. She has been honored as Fellow of American College of Radiology and a Fellow of the Society of Breast Imaging. 

Past Awardees

  • 2020 Vickie Feldstein, MD
  • 2019 James Spies, MD
  • 2018 Nancy Fischbein, MD
  • 2017 Mark W. Wilson, MD
  • 2016 Jeanne M. Laberge, MD
  • 2015 Jean-Francois Geschwind, MD
  • 2014 Ruth B. Goldstein, MD
  • 2013 Melvyn Korobkin, MD
  • 2012 Robert K. Kerlan, MD
  • 2011 Philip H. Goodman, MD
  • 2010 Peter W. Callen, MD 
  • 2009 Richard Barth, MD
  • 2008 Patricia Hudgins, MD
  • 2007 Robert J. Herfkens, MD 
  • 2006 Susan D. Wall, MD 
  • 2005 Erik H.L. Gaensler, MD
  • 2004 Michael D. Dake, MD
  • 2003 Faye C. Laing, MD
  • 2002 William G. Bradley, MD, PhD
  • 2001 W. Richard Webb, MD
  • 2000 Edward A. Sickles, MD
  • 1999 Herbert Y, Kressel, MD
  • 1998 Robert C. Brasch, MD
  • 1997 Henry I. Goldberg, MD
  • 1996 Hideyo Minagi, MD
  • 1995 Thomas L. Lawson, MD
  • 1994 William R. Brody, MD
  • 1993 James M. Moorefield, MD
  • 1992 R. Brooke Jeffrey, MD
  • 1991 Gary M. Glazer, MD
  • 1990 Michael P. Federle, MD
  • 1989 Wylie J. Dodds, MD
  • 1988 Albert A. Moss, MD
  • 1987 Gretchen Gooding, MD
  • 1986 Donald R. Kirks, MD
  • 1985 James A. Nelson,MD
  • 1984 Chalres E. Putman, MD
  • 1983 Stewart R. Reurter, MD

Clinical Faculty Excellence Award

The Clinical Faculty Excellence Award was established in 2021 to honor and celebrate our faculty who are distinguished by their dedication to clinical radiology, their superb skills in diagnostic and/or interventional radiology, and the exceptional care they provide to our patients. This honor is awarded annually.

2021 Liina Poder, MD (inaugural winner!)

Dr. Poder received several nominations from within and outside the department for this new award. Nominators cited Dr. Poder's accessibility, knowledge, and selflessness in her commitment to patients. One nominator had this to say: "Dr. Poder is a highly regarded faculty with exceptional diagnostic skills, specially in women's imaging. There is no patient who undergoes a procedure in OB/GYN unless Dr. Poder has looked at their imaging. She has started numerous excellent programs including endometriosis and placenta accreta spectrum disorders. Many of our clinical colleagues say that sometimes they image patients at the UCSF just so that Dr. Poder can review their imaging. She is an asset to our department!"


Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award

Presented for outstanding service to the UCSF Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging as a member of the Clinical Faculty.

2021 Camilla Lindan, MD

Dr. Lindan's significant contributions as a volunteer clinical faculty member were cited by colleagues in the neuroradiology section. Her nominators made these observations: "Dr. Lindan has been consistently volunteering >200 hours per year for the neuroradiology section for the last 3 years. During COVID in March-June 2020 when we would not let people on the campus she kept emailing to ask to come and help. Camilla now comes in at least one day per week and spends the majority of her time either at Parnassus or Mission Bay, one on one teaching with the residents. Camilla brings a lot of energy to the reading room with enthusiasm for the aret of neuroradiology which inspires others in the reading room to slow down and teach. Camilla is outstanding!"

Past Awardees

  • 2020 Graham Wallace, MD
  • 2019 Judong Pan, MD
  • 2018 David M. Carlson, MD 
  • 2017 Derk Purcell, MD
  • 2016 Ramin R. Saket, MD
  • 2015 Nick G. Costouros, MD 
  • 2014 Joseph Stengel, DO 
  • 2013 Vishal (VJ) Bhagat, MD 
  • 2012 Frank Mainzer, MD 
  • 2011 D. Christian Sonne, MD
  • 2010 Douglas Sheft, MD 
  • 2009 Gerald K. Lee, MD 
  • 2008 Diego E. Ruiz, MD 
  • 2007 Myrtha Cesar, MD 
  • 2006 James Johnston, MD 
  • 2005 Geoffrey M. Riley, MD 
  • 2004 Bamidele F. Kammen, MD
  • 2003 Howard T. Nelson, MD
  • 2002 John J. McIntyre, MD
  • 2001 Alexander R. Margulis, MD
  • 2000 Sundeep Nayak, MD
  • 1999 Van V. Halbach, MD
  • 1998 Camilla E. Lindan, MD
  • 1997 Erik H. L. Gaensler, MD
  • 1996 Christopher G. Goumas, MD
  • 1995 Christopher K. Hoffman, MD
  • 1994 John D. Murao, MD
  • 1993 Michael J. Rizzo, MD
  • 1992 Jeffrey D. Dieden, MD
  • 1991 Richard P. Jacobs, MD
  • 1990 William J. Shea, MD
  • 1989 Jeremy A. McCreary, MD
  • 1988 J. Scott Dunbar, MD
  • 1987 Vincent McCormick, MD
  • 1986 Catherine Mills, MD
  • 1985 Edward L. Baker, MD
  • 1984 Richard H. Dorsay, MD
  • 1983 Howard T. Nelson, MD
  • 1982 Hooshang Taybi, MD
  • 1981 Jay A. Kaiser, MD
  • 1980 Alan J. Davidson, MD
  • 1979 Edward T. Evans, MD
  • 1978 Frederick R. Margolin, MD
  • 1977 Charles L. Rennell, MD

Annual Faculty Celebration