UCSF Radiology Faculty, Alumni and Trainees Were Recognized at Commencement 2022

UCSF Radiology Faculty, Alumni and Trainees Were Recognized at Commencement 2022

Commencement 2022 was held on June 10, 2022, with an in-person and virtual ceremony. The UC San Francisco Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging would like to take this opportunity to congratulate graduates. We would also like to recognize the following individuals who received awards.

The Medical Student Teaching Award

Recipient: Miles Conrad, MD, MPH, clinical professor, Interventional and Sujal Nanavati, MD, clinical professor, Interventional

Presented to a teacher demonstrating excellence in teaching UCSF medical students for the Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging.

Outstanding Faculty Mentoring Award

Recipient: Daniel Vigneron, PhD, professor, director of the Advanced Imaging Technologies Specialized Resource Group and the UCSF Hyperpolarized MRI Technology Resource Center (HMTRC)

Presented annually to a faculty member who has provided extraordinary service to the department's faculty through mentorship.

Margulis Society Resident Research Award

Recipient: Maggie Chung, MD, radiology resident

Presented annually by the Margulis Society to a senior resident who has accomplished outstanding achievement in research during their time as a resident in the UCSF Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging.

Outstanding Fellow/Clinical Instructor Teaching Award

Recipient: James (Matt) Kerchberger, MD, clinical fellow

Presented annually to a fellow or clinical instructor who has demonstrated both excellence in teaching and outstanding dedication to instructing trainees in the residency program.

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award

Recipient: Judong Pan, MD, PhD, assistant clinical professor, Musculoskeletal Section

Presented for outstanding service to the UCSF Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging as a member of the Clinical Faculty.

Elmer Ng Outstanding Resident Award

Recipients: Maggie Chung, MD, radiology resident

Named in memory of former faculty member Elmer Ng, MD, this award is presented annually to an exceptional member of the graduating residency class in recognition of extraordinary accomplishments and a high-level of dedication to excellence in patient care, teaching and service.

Hideyo Minagi Outstanding Teacher Award

Recipient: Derek Sun, MD, associate clinical professor of radiology, Abdominal Imaging Section

Named in honor of faculty member Hideyo Minagi, MD, this award recognizes an outstanding faculty teacher that most exemplifies the commitment, enthusiasm and dedication to teaching demonstrated by Dr. Hideyo Minagi over his long UCSF career.

Clinical Faculty Excellence Award

Recipient: Spencer Behr, MD, associate professor of clinical radiology, Abdominal Imaging Section

The Clinical Faculty Excellence Award is established to honor and celebrate our faculty who are distinguished by their dedication to clinical radiology, their superb skills in diagnostic and/or interventional radiology, and the exceptional care they provide to our patients. This honor is awarded annually.

Outstanding Alumni Award

Recipient: Howard Rowley, MD, professor of Radiology, Neurology and Neurosurgery; chief of Neurological MRI; and the Joseph F. Sackett Professor of Radiology at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

Presented to a graduate of the radiology residency program who has achieved a high level of professional accomplishment, who has provided outstanding service to the field of radiology through their leadership, and who has promoted the culture of the UCSF Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging through collaboration, professionalism and excellence.

Congratulations to all 2022 award winners and graduates!

Related People