Faculty, Alumni and Trainees Were Recognized at Commencement 2020

Commencement 2020 was held on June 5, 2020 with a virtual ceremony. The UC San Francisco Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging would like to take this opportunity to congratulate graduates and recognize the following individuals who received awards at Commencement 2020. 

The Medical Student Teaching Award

Recipient: Maya Vella, MD, clinical fellow

Presented to a teacher demonstrating excellence in teaching UCSF medical students for the Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging.

Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award

Recipient: Graham Wallace, MD, volunteer assistant clinical professor, UCSF Radiology and Biomedical Imaging

Presented for outstanding service to the UCSF Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging as a member of the Clinical Faculty.

Outstanding Alumnus Award

Recipient: Vickie Feldstein, MD, professor of clinical radiology, UCSF Radiology and Biomedical Imaging

Presented to a graduate of the radiology residency program who has achieved a high level of professional accomplishment, who has provided outstanding service to the field of radiology through their leadership, and who has promoted the culture of the UCSF Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging through collaboration, professionalism and excellence.

Outstanding Fellow/Clinical Instructor Teaching Award

Recipient: Karl Soderlund, MD, clinical instructor

Presented annually to a fellow or clinical instructor who has demonstrated both excellence in teaching and outstanding dedication to instructing trainees in the residency program.

Elmer Ng Outstanding Resident Award

Recipients: Kesav Raghavan, MD and Alexandra Wright, MD

Named in memory of former faculty member Elmer Ng, MD, this award is presented annually to an exceptional member of the graduating residency class in recognition of extraordinary accomplishments and a high-level of dedication to excellence in patient care, teaching and service.

Hideyo Minagi Outstanding Teacher Award

Recipient: Travis Henry, MD, associate professor and acting chief of Cardiac and Pulmonary Imaging

Named in honor of faculty member Hideyo Minagi, MD, this award recognizes an outstanding faculty teacher that most exemplifies the commitment, enthusiasm and dedication to teaching demonstrated by Dr. Hideyo Minagi over his long UCSF career.

Radiology Award for Outstanding Faculty Mentoring

Recipient: John Kurhanewicz, PhD, professor in residence 

Presented annually to a faculty member who has provided extraordinary service to the department's faculty through mentorship.

Congratulations to all 2020 award winners and graduates!


Related People