Interventional Radiology Research Lab

The IR Research Lab is a multi-disciplinary research group whose studies focus on basic, translational and clinical aspects of image-guided therapy. In collaboration with a large number of internal and external academic partners and external industry partners, the IR Lab’s accomplishments included novel endovascular devices, imaging techniques, in vitro and animal models of disease, and industry standard support of multi-center, international clinical device trials. The IR Lab has grown rapidly since its inception; over 100 papers have been published and $4.5 million have been awarded in grant funding from various government and industry sponsors.

Interventional Radiology Research Lab

Research Directions

A partial list of research from the IR Research Lab includes the following:

  • developing tools to perform endovascular stroke treatment under 3T MRI guidance so stroke patients can be treated in any 3T MRI scanner or in a combined X-ray/MRI (XMR) suite
  • designing, prototyping, and testing endovascular devices in vitro and in vivo, the latter at our co-located large animal surgical and imaging facility
  • developing remote controlled endovascular catheter systems and testing them in vitro and in vivo in both the x-ray and 1.5T MRI environments
  • improving sensitivity and safety of endovascular MR imaging at 3T   
  • developing a family of novel ChemoFilter devices to remove drugs from the blood; this work has also led to additional sponsored funding as well as formation of a startup company
  • novel endovascular therapies for stroke, aneurysms, vascular malformations, and tumors of the brain, spine, head and neck
  • translational research on interventional MRI and endovascular therapy, including large animal studies and human studies
  • evaluating treatment of image-guided acute ischemic stroke in patients with wake-up stroke or uncertain time of stroke onset
  • multicenter international clinical trials evaluating of endovascular stents and flow diverters for the treatment of brain aneurysms
  • evaluating endovascular embolectomy devices for stroke treatment
  • evaluation of advanced applications in clinical x-ray angiography

Publications

IR Research Lab publications can be found under Steven Hetts, MD publications listing.

Research Team

Matthew AmansMatthew Amans, MD
matthew.amans@ucsf.edu


 


Loi DoLoi Do
loi.do@ucsf.edu


 


You-Chen KuoYuo-Chen Kuo, MD
yuo-chen.kuo@ucsf.edu


 


Prasheel LillaneyPrasheel Lillaney, PhD
prasheel.lillaney@ucsf.edu


 


Aaron LoseyAaron Losey
aaron.losey@ucsf.edu


 


Mark LumMark Lum
mark.lum@ucsf.edu


 


Jason NiJason Ni
jni89@berkeley.edu


 


Dare OlorunsolaDare Olorunsola, MD
dare.olorunsola@ucsf.edu

 


Anand PatelAnand Patel, MD
anand.patel@ucsf.edu


 


Ryan SincicRyan Sincic
ryan.sincic@ucsfmedctr.org

 


Bradford ThorneBradford Thorne
bradford.thorne@gmail.com

 


Ricky TongRicky Tong, MD, PhD
ricky.tong@ucsf.edu


 


Tiffany TsaiTiffany Tsai
tiffany.tsai@ucsf.edu


 


Stephanie TseStephanie Tse
stephtse10@gmail.com


 


Maya VellaMaya Vella
maya.vella@ucsf.edu

 

Alumni

  • Curtis Clayton
  • Scott Goodfriend
  • Skylar Nahi
  • Erin Yee
Professor, and Vice-Chair, SFGH
Chief of Interventional Radiology (SFGH)
Co-Director, Image-Guided Surgery SRG
Professor in Residence
Associate Professor
Co-Director, Image-Guided Surgery SRG
PROF IN RES-HCOMP
Assistant Professor
Asst. Professor in Residence
Assistant Professor
Director of Informatics
+1 415 353-1300
Asst Prof of Clin Radiology
Professor
Adjunct Professor