Honors and Awards

Dr. Michael Evans' lab awarded the American Cancer Society Research Scholar Award
April 4, 2017

The RSNA recognizes the following faculty from the Deparment of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging for their contribution to the RSNA 2016 courses:
James Barkovich, MD, Antonio Westphalen, MD, Benjamin Yeh, MD, Bonnie Joe, MD, Brett Elicker, MD, Christine Glastonbury, MBBS, Christopher Hess, MD, PhD, Judy Yee, MD, Karen Ordovas, MD, Lynne Steinbach, MD, Marc Kohli, MD, Michael Hope, MD, Nicholas Fidelman, MD, Ronald Zagoria, MD, Ruth Goldstein, MD, Tara Morgan, MD, Thomas Hope, MD, and Travis Henry, MD.
March 31, 2017

Dr. Sharmila Majumdar awarded the Journal of Orthopedic Surgery Excellence in Translational Science Award
March 16, 2017

Matthew Parker, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow of Michael Evans' lab, is the recipient of a Department of Defense Prostate Cancer Research Program postdoctoral fellowship
March 7, 2017

Dr. Flavell was awarded the 2017 Howard S. Stern research award by the Society of Abdominal Radiology
March 3, 2017

Dr. Ron Arenson, recipient of the 2017 Holly Smith Award for Exceptional Service to the School of Medicine
March 1, 2017 

Robert Flavell, MD, PhD was awarded an American Cancer Society individual research grant
February 8, 2017

Chiyo Uchida, RN, Named Inaugural Radiology Nurse of the Month
January 23, 2017

Srikantan Nagarajan, PhD accepted as IEEE Fellow, one of the most prestigious honors of the IEEE
January 1, 2017

Drs. Thomas Link, Youngho Seo, and Duan Xu honored with 2016 Distinguished Investigator Award at RSNA
November 29, 2016

Duygu Tosun-Turgut, PhD named one of two winners of 2016 Parkinson’s Progression Markers Initiative Data Challenge
November 28, 2016

Jeanne Laberge, M.D., FSIR awarded Gold Medal, the Society of Interventional Radiology's highest honor
October 12, 2016

David Poon, RT, is just one of three recipients to receive ARRT's "I am the Gold Standard" award
October 3, 2016

Ursula Heilmeier, MD, awarded 2016 Young Investigator Award by the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR) for work on Diabetic Bone disease
Sept 18, 2016

UCSF Medical Center Ranked 7th Best Hospital in the U.S. for 2016-17 (US News & World Report):  Only Northern California Hospital to Rank in Top 10 Nationwide
August 2, 2016

Dr. Christine Glastonbury appointed to the American Board of Radiology’s Diagnostic Radiology Maintenance of Certification Advisory Committee.
June 20, 2016

Bill Dillon, MD - Radiology Award for Outstanding Faculty Mentoring
June 17, 2016

Steven Hetts, MD, PhD - Medical Student Teaching Award
June 17, 2016

Ramin Saket, MD - Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award
June 17, 2016

Eric Ehman, MD, senior resident - RSNA Roentgen Research Award
June 17, 2016

Kimberly Kallianos, MD and Yi Li, MD, Senior Residents - Margulis Society Resident Research Award
June 17, 2016

Jeanne M. LaBerge, MD - Outstanding Alumni Award (given annually to an outstanding alumnus of the department)
June 17, 2016

Brett Mollard, MD - Outstanding Fellow/Clinical Instructor Teaching Award (residents select a fellow who gave outstanding effort in teaching)
June 17, 2016

Jesse Courtier, MD - Hideyo Minagi Award (presented to outstanding teacher, selected by the senior residents)
June 17, 2016

Javier Villanueva-Meyer, MD, senior resident - Elmer Ng Award (presented to outstanding resident)
June 17, 2016

Cindy Lee, MD was one of the 10 radiologists selected this year to participate in the RSNA/ASNR Comparative Effectiveness Research Training (CERT) Program.
May 24, 2016

Ursula Heilmeier, MD recieved the ECTS 2016 New Investigator Award in Rome for her work on miRNAs in diabetic bone disease.
May 18, 2016

Sujal Nanavati, MD, received the Robert Lull Award, granted annually by the ZSFG Department of Internal Medicine for the Hospital's Most Outstanding Consultant.
May 17, 2016

The Department of Radiology & Biomedical Imaging at UCSF tops the Twitter account activities amongst academic radiology departments nationwide.
May 14, 2016

International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine Awards Sharmila Majumdar, PhD its 2016 Gold Medal.
May 6, 2016

Sabrina Ronen, PhD, was presented with a Senior Fellowship of the Society Award at the ISMRM meeting.
May 6, 2016

Susan O'Hara is a recipient of the 2016 Chancellor Award for Exceptional University Management, for her outstanding contributions to UCSF.
April, 2016

Thomas Hope, MD has become the 2016 recipient of the SNMMI Marc Tetalman Award honoring the research accomplishments of a young investigator pursuing a career in nuclear medicine
April, 2016

David Avrin has become the leader of the new ACGME fellowship in Clinical Informatics
April, 2016

Daniel S. Chow Selected as AJNR’s Next Editorial Fellow
April, 2016

Two graduates of our MSBI program were honored at the American Society of Functional NeuroRadiology meeting. Naeim Behrami had the best oral paper -- Microstructural Changes in Corpus Callosum Associated with Sub-concussive Head Impact Exposure in Youth Football - and Yi-Shi Chang had the best poster - White Matter Microstructure is Associated with Auditory and Tactile Processing in Children With and Without Sensory Processing Disorder. Both graduates are pursuing doctoral programs.
March, 2016

Elissa Price, MD has been elected to Society of Breast Imaging Fellowship and will be inducted this April at the SBI/ACR Breast Imaging Symposium.

Christine Glastonbury MBBS is an elected office holder in American Society of Neuroradiology (ASNR)
March 23, 2016

Ronald Arenson, MD accepts honorary membership in the European Society of Radiology at their 2016 annual meeting, the European Congress of Radiology opening ceremony in Vienna, Austria
March 3, 2016

Brett Elicker, MD, Travis Henry, MD, Elliott Sherr, MD, PhD, Pratik Mukharjee, MD, PhD, and Srikantan Nagarajan, PhD, were recognized by the Marcus Program in Precision Medicine Innovation
February 29, 2016

Dr. Michael Evans' lab awarded team science award from UCSF to support new PET scan in lymphoma
February 11, 2016

Charles Truillet, PhD, was awarded a postdoctoral fellowship from the Department of Defense Prostate Cancer Research Program
February 11, 2016

Michael Evans, PhD article recognized as "Editor's Choice" in Molecular Pharmaceutics - American Chemical Society
January 4, 2016

Judy Yee, MD is currently president of Society of Abdominal Radiology
January 1, 2015

Lynne Steinbach, MD is currently president of International Skeletal Society
January 1, 2015

Wyatt Tellis, MD and Marc Kohli, MD, SIIM (Society for Imaging Infomatics In Medicine) Board of Directors, 2015-2016
January 1, 2015

RSNA 2015 Distinguished Investigator Award: Xiaojuan Li, PhD, Rebecca Smith-Bindman, MD, and Benjamin Yeh, MD

RSNA (Radiology Society of North America) announces Ronald L. Arenson, M.D., FACR, as president of the Radiological Society of North America (RSNA)
November 1, 2014

Judy Yee, MD assumes Chair, RSNA Public Information Committee
November 1, 2014

Sarah Nelson, PhD, John Kurhanewicz, PhD and Dan Vigneron, PhD, received their 2014 World Molecular Imaging award
January 1, 2014